Boku Dake ga Inai Machi ~ 1st Impression

77957Boku Dake ga Inai Machi is a psychological, seinin and supernatural anime series that follows  main character, Satoru Fujinuma. He’s a twenty-nine year old male who tries to live out his dream of being a mangaka. Unfortunately, he works part-time as a pizza delivery man but still clings to his aspirations. Satoru has an ability called “revival.”

 

 “I usually go back between one and five minutes where everything is the same as before. It’s always right before something bad happens.”– Satoru Fujinuma

Untitled-1After an incident that led to him being hospitalized, he regains forgotten memories of the past and we find out that various kidnapping and deaths occurred when he was in the 5th grade.

I didn’t have any expectations for the series and didn’t have the intention to check it out. However, after I viewed Chibi Reviews video about what he would watch this anime season, and he anticipated that this series would have been one of the best series of this season. With that in mind, I decided to check it out. When I viewed this episode, I found myself completely invested in the story. I was unable to avert my eyes from the screen because the plot was just so interesting and very unique. I’ve only recently gotten interested in psychological genre of anime  and this by far has to be the best way that an anime has introduced the story. The supernatural aspect alone is a great element to the plot in itself which is why it stood out to me. Since the main character has the ability of “revival,” Satoru is able to prevent disastrous events from occurring? Imagine all the disasters surrounding you that could be prevented! You could save a couple of people if you had an ability like that.

In addition to the compelling story, I was really impressed with the v42750oice acting that was done in this first episode. Shinnosuke Mitsushima, was the voice actor for our main male character and this was also the first character that he voice acted for. In all honesty, I found his voice very fitting for the role of Satoru. Throughout the episode, the tone of his voice was very detached, and this was carried out through the episode until we get to a major plot point of the episode. Not only did this amazing new voice actor surprise me but, I was intrigued to find out that Asian Kung Fu Generation’s song, Re-Re was played at the ending sequence of this episode. It was nostalgic because I remembered being addicted to many of their songs when they did the openings of Fullmetal Alchemist and Naruto. When I first heard the song, I was amazed because I was instantly hooked on the song and I couldn’t wait to figure out who the artist of the song was.

 

If this didn’t convince you, then I don’t know what you’re doing to yourself.

Rating 9.5/10

~Assisted by Mochi-san~mochi_character_decal_by_itachi_roxas

3 thoughts on “Boku Dake ga Inai Machi ~ 1st Impression

Leave a Reply

